Advisory Bodies

The list of members of the CHESS External Advisory Committee and the Users' Executive Committee

External Advisory Committee

G. Brian Stephenson

Senior Physicist
Materials Science Division
Argonne National Laboratory


Robert Fischetti

Life Sciences Advisor to the APS Director
GM/CA Group Leader
Argonne National Laboratory

Paul G. Evans

Dept. of Materials Science and Engineering
University of Wisconsin-Madison

Robert Hettel

Director of the Advanced Photon Source Upgrade Project
Argonne National Laboratory

Jean Jordan-Sweet

IBM Research Division
National Synchrotron Light Source
Brookhaven National Laboratory

Janos Kirz

Scientific Advisor, Advanced Light Source
Ernest Orlando Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Distinguished Professor Emeritus at Stony Brook University
Advanced Light Source
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Lee Makowski

Professor Bioengineering, Electrical and Computer Engineering
National Synchrotron Light Source
Northeastern University

Users' Executive Committee

Kyle Lancaster
Chair, 2018

Dept. of Chemistry and Chemical Biology
Cornell University

John Smedley
Vice Chair, 2019

Instrumentation Division
Brookhaven National Lab

Jiye (James) Fang


Dept. of Chemistry
State University of New York, Binghamton

Todd Hufnagel


Mechanical Engineering
Johns Hopkins University, Whiting School of Engineering

Stephen Meisburger


Dept. of Chemistry
Princeton University

John Twilley


Materials Science and Engineering
SUNY Stony Brook University

D. Marian Szebenyi

(Ex Officio, non-voting)
Director, MacCHESS
Cornell University

Matthew Miller

(Ex Officio, non-voting)
Director, In-Sitµ
Cornell University